Doodle-Ventures: sun, sand and sea

Is it too early to be thinking about Christmas vacation?

Normally, I’m not much of a snowbird. Cold Canadian winters are fine by me. I love woolly mitts and cozy sweaters and hand-knit scarves and pom-pom hats.

Sure, it’s no fun having to set aside an extra 20 minutes in the morning for scraping ice off your car before the commute to work, but I always think the city looks best when it’s freshly covered in a blanket of snow. Plus, I always welcome any excuse to whip up a big frothy mug of hot cocoa. (Who are we kidding? I don’t need an excuse.)

But today my mind is drifting off to balmier locales. What can I say? I’m very susceptible to beach talk, and I have some chatty vacation-bound coworkers.

It’s been about three months since I was last lying on a beach, and I remember thinking I would take some time and intentionally soak up everything about that moment because it was perfect — warm sand, fresh clear water, bright skies and minimal aggressive seagulls.

And yet, all that intentional moment-soaking is not really making me feel any better as we head into November. Perhaps today’s doodle will help.

4/500 Sandcastle
4/500 Sandcastle

To be fair, we have been getting some suspiciously warm weather lately. What kind of Canadian November is this? I can’t drink hot cocoa in this near-20-degree weather.

Just don’t remind me I said that when two weeks from now I’m chipping ice off my windshield at 6 a.m.

Leave a comment