Day 15 (Sept. 18): Goodbye hunger

I had the best kick start to my day this morning. I went to the Whitecap Masters Open House and swam intensely from 9:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. It was great! Never underestimate the energy you can get out of a bright and early workout . . . assuming of course you can get up. I figured 9:30 a.m. wasn’t a horribly unreasonable waking hour.

After swimming, I went to breakfast at the caf with some of my friends. Usually, I’m too much of a morning person for people to join me for breakfast. But 11:30 a.m. seems to be more their speed. It was the most perfect breakfast ever! It turns out the caf was serving all our favourites. Lindsay got her sausages, Natalie got her hash browns, the good egg lady was there (sometimes there’s a horrible egg man who prepares the eggs. He mixes up everyone’s orders and gets eggshells into everything.), and I had pancakes. What can I say? I really like breakfast.

Today was completely devoted to grocery shopping. I like to think I’m making a respectable effort to cook. So far, I’ve been living off of sandwiches (until my bread and sandwich filler ran out. So basically I was left with a bottle of honey mustard, and that’s not such a great meal), cereal (until my milk ran out), and salad (which I unabashedly eat right out of the bag. Hey, the label says Prewashed. I just rip open the top, dump some dressing on it, and give it a good shake). Most recently, I’ve decided to kick it up a notch and make chocolate chip Eggo waffles and Pillsbury pizza pockets. The use of the toaster oven is really a dying art.

Today I was feeling ambitious and stocked up on just about everything I could get my hands on in Loblaws. It is no easy feat to carry back two big jugs of juice, a two-litre carton of milk, and three cans of soup, a big bag of apples, a big bunch of grapes, a loaf of bread, a bag of salad, and various sandwich meats all in one go. I actually think I got shorter under that load on my way back to res. But I’m definitely eating well for the next . . . year.

And as if that wasn’t enough, Natalie, Lindsay, Kitty and I decided to make a rare trip to T&T. To give you an idea of our level of commitment, it takes almost 30 minutes to get there by bus. It was beautiful! The T&T is humongous! Remember how I confidently bought soup with the absurd notion that I would be boiling things on hot plates? Well I decided to have another crazy moment and bought frozen dumplings! My friends got really into it and it looked fun. Now I’m staring at the package in the freezer thinking, “When am I ever going to be hungry enough to pull out a pot and boil water?” Well crazier things have happened, I suppose. We’ll see how that goes.

More rationally, I bought a bunch of prepared foods to stick in the fridge. I had mapo tofu for dinner! It’s not the best I’ve ever eaten, but it beats sandwiches and caf food! I never knew I’d miss Chinese food so much. Well, by Chinese I mean something that’s not covered in sweet and sour sauce or some variation of fried chicken that belonged to General Tso. I’m really talking about something a little more Chinese than fortune cookies.

Needless to say I will not have any need to go out for food for a good month. Ah the beauty of frozen foods and other victuals that have endless shelf lives. Bless you, Chef Boyardee!

By the time we returned from our shopping adventure, it was 4:30 p.m. I had initially planned to go to Chapters today and do my homework at Starbucks. There’s a $9.99 paperback sale! Plus, I like the background noise at Starbucks. It helps me focus on boring readings. But alas, the weather wasn’t co-operating. It was so sunny this morning and suddenly, a big fat raincloud decided to sit on top of Ottawa. A chilly gust of constant wind also decided to join us for the evening. I ended up working in the comfort of my room.

For the most part, I wasn’t very productive today. It’s the weekend! I tried to get some work done, I really did. But my eyes are tired and everything just seems a little dull.

I’m supposed to be doing background research for my Journalism’s View of the Languages and Institutions of Public Life (in which we learn everything about every single institution in Canada because apparently reporters need to know everything about everything). We’ve all been assigned an institution with a headquarters in Ottawa. We have to write a 2000-word profile on it, journalistic-ly. That means we have to find something newsworthy about our institution and write a news story on it while slipping in information about their history, structure, funding, mandate, blah de blah blah.

Some people got really cool assignments, like the Brazilian embassy. Kitty has the Ottawa Police Service! That’s practically news already! I have the Canadian Industrial Transportation Association. You know what’s interesting about CITA? Me neither. So far, all I know is they ship things. They’re “the only national industry association focusing on freight transportation.” It’s such a shame the movement of freight doesn’t make me want to jump up and down waving pompoms in the air.

I think I’m just tired from a long day of physical exertion. Luckily I still have tomorrow, which I shall dedicate completely to work (and Chapters)! I think I’ll just painfully muck my way through the news and call it a night.

Leave a Reply

