Day 19 (Sept. 22): Short-lived victory, but victory nonetheless

I’m proud to announce: I’m finished with my Charlatan article, and there’s still two whole days before the deadline! I had two interviews to do this morning – one at 8:30 a.m. and one at 10:30 a.m. I managed to throw together a first draft before it was time to go to class at 11:15 a.m! The work load is pretty heavy this year, but every once in a while, I surprise myself.

I had Chinese class today, and made the horrifying discovery of having done the wrong homework. Well, it’s not the first time and it won’t be the last. I really have no good excuse for it. I didn’t take a good look at the new sheet laoshi was holding up yesterday. I thought I already had that one, but . . . well, we all see how that turned out.  Ah, well it was bound to happen some time. It’s not the first time and it’s certainly not going to be the last. But I managed to finish that sheet and drop it off at laoshi’s office about an hour after class. I’ve got bigger fish to fry!

After a solid hour of editing, paring down my article from 680 words to the word limit of 550, I fired it off to my editor and that was that. I can officially cross off “Charlatan article” from my To Do list. Now I’m trying to get all my reading done before the weekend so that I can focus on journalism next week. It’s a bit of a long shot, but hey, I did finish my article ahead of time. Anything’s possible!

All that ambition is going to have to wait until tomorrow. For now, I’m still enjoying the smell of victory. I even read the news already. So what are the plans of this champion tonight? Mindless TV shows! It feels like forever since I caught up with my shows. And as we all know, this is the big kick-off week for just about every show worth watching after the summer hiatus.

So this is probably one of my shorter entries. I could spend a little longer talking about the many trivial matters in my life, but freedom calls!

2 thoughts on “Day 19 (Sept. 22): Short-lived victory, but victory nonetheless

Leave a Reply

