Day 23 (Sept. 26): This cannot be happening

It’s Sunday morning . . . at 7:04 a.m. and I am awake. Not only am I awake, but I’ve been awake, getting ready to leave for church for about 25 minutes.

The shuttle leaves at 8:30 a.m.

Can’t connect the dots? Well I can’t either! I set my alarm last night for 7:30 a.m. to give myself plenty of time to put the snooze button to good use before I had to meet Natalie at 8:15 a.m. I was brushed and washed. I put my contacts in (which is not easy at this hour, my friend!), made and ate breakfast, and it’s not even 7:15 a.m. yet.

It wasn’t until about 11 minutes ago at 6:56 a.m. that I turned on my Blackberry to text Natalie and make sure she was awake (she has a habit of sleeping through just about every alarm she sets). And lo and behold it was not even 7 a.m! I must have sat there on my bed like an idiot for a good two minutes staring at the time and looking back at my alarm clock, which continued to confidently tell me it was almost 8 a.m.

To this moment, I still have no idea how my clock changed times on me. Now it’s 7:09 a.m and I’m contemplating whether I should go back to sleep for about 50 minutes. Contemplation over. I’m going back to bed!

Side note: In retrospect, I should have noticed something was wrong when the sky was really dark. I just thought it was going to be another really rainy day! I stand corrected.

Leave a Reply

