Day 26: And breathe.

It’s not 11:53 p.m. and I’m officially running 53 minutes overtime. I was aiming for “early to bed, early to rise,” but clearly that’s not happening. I have to be up and at ’em in about six hours. Tomorrow’s going to be just glorious.

I only had one class today: Chinese. We sang songs about washrooms – exactly the kind of sophistication I’d expect from a university course. Truth be told, I’d rather sing silly songs in Mandarin than go through the torture that I hear about from other classes. Apparently their teacher makes them sit and repeat page after page of pinyin! I’m glad I dodged that bullet!

Small highlight: There’s a storage closet on every floor in our res buildings that have a giant vacuum (which no one uses because it spits out more stink than it sucks up) and a giant box of toilet paper. Well for the past four days, that box has been empty. Kitty and I had back up so it wasn’t really a problem for us, but I can only imagine the horror that was going on in the other rooms! Fortunately, we finally got a brand new box brimming with those heavenly rolls of 0.1-ply toilet paper (hey, at least we don’t have to go out and buy it ourselves). I grabbed about eight rolls. There is no way we’re going to be caught short-stocked when that box runs out again!

I spent the day working on some homework, trying to clear it out of the way before it starts piling up. Where does my time go? It’s already 11:59 p.m. I’ll try to share one more highlight in one minute.

My mom has been helping me out with finding summer jobs. I wanted to get an early start this year since I missed the deadlines last year. Who knew December was already considered late? Come on, people! We do have lives! In any case,  my mom found the best opportunity! The Toronto Star is accepting applications for summer general assignment journalists – that’s basically the lowest rung on the journalism ladder where you take any story they assign you – and I want in on that action! For the most part I have what they’re looking for (six to eight published articles, a cover letter, resume, the usual blah blah) but I need three references. It’s a Catch-22 situation. I need job experience to get good references and to get good jobs, I need good references. Who’s the genius who came up with that idea? But all is not lost! I got last year’s national editor to agree to be my reference and she’s willing to write me a reference letter! Hooray! Commence happy dance now.

Well midnight has come and gone, and the night isn’t getting any younger. I think I’d better try to squeeze in as many hours of sleep as possible. I’m going to need them tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

