Day 40: Education vs. sanity

Every night I go to bed thinking my life can’t possibly get any busier … but it does! Last night, at about 12:30 a.m. I got an email from the Charlatan – another urgent, last minute, desperate plea for someone to take a story. I was fully set on turning it down, but the topic caught my eye. There was a pledge event at the University of Ottawa bright and early at 9 a.m. today. Mayoral and council candidates were going to show up and pledge their support for a permanent Universal Transit Pass if they get elected. (The U-pass is basically a mandatory public transit pass for all full-time students at Ottawa U and Carleton).

I figured this was a good opportunity to hit two birds with one stone. I still needed to cover a municipal event for journalism. This seemed a heck of a lot more interesting than my back up – a ward debate at 7 p.m. tonight. So I said yes, and spent the next hour doing background research on the issues. As of about 23 hours ago, I knew absolutely nothing about the U-pass except that I had one.

So that’s how I ended up going to bed at 1:30 a.m. and getting up at 7 a.m. Somehow I managed to drag myself onto the right bus, get off at the right stop, and make my way to the right meeting place for the event – the campus transit stop at Ottawa U. Thank goodness for friendly passers-by! One man saw me staring hopelessly at the Ottawa U campus map and pointed me in the right direction. Bless you, kind stranger!

The event was pretty interesting. I’m glad I went! Of course I also had to return exhausted from the event at 10:45 a.m. only to find that my day hadn’t really begun at all! I still had Chinese class. And after class, I buckled down to attack the mountain of work that continues to build up over my head.

I guess I was pretty productive today. I finished my Charlatan article by about 7:20 p.m. and prepared my environmental news for tomorrow’s radio show. (Ugh … another early morning tomorrow.) And yet the list doesn’t seem to get any shorter:

  1. Study for the journalism midterm on Friday,
  2. Write the journalism assignment on a public meeting for Monday,
  3. Write the journalism assignment on municipal news for Thursday, and
  4. Write the politics midterm for Tuesday

And of course, that’s only my Near Future To Do list. How I long for Christmas! I guess it will be nice to see my hard work in the Charlatan tomorrow.

Side note: My reputation seems to be preceding me at the Charlatan. When I called the news editor back last night, he hinted at two more stories he wanted to assign to me in the upcoming weeks. It’s a good feeling and I love writing for the Charlatan … but I think my head is going to explode soon.

That reminds me (the Charlatan, not my head exploding), I haven’t attached the link to my latest published article yet! I’m going to do that right now and call it a night. I still have mountains of things to do, but I think that’s going to be Future Veronica’s problem.

Leave a Reply

