Day 41: What is this “sleep” you speak of?

I’ve been awake for the past 18 hours. It should be illegal! I am completely and utterly exhausted. Mental capabilities waning. Eyelids drooping. Bags under eyes growing. Reflexes nonexistent.

There is so much to say about my crazy Thursday, but I don’t have the time or energy to go into detail. So here’s a quick list of stories to come:

  1. Radio catastrophe
  2. Locked out
  3. Journalism: yay or nay?
  4. Charlatan disappointment
  5. Slaving away

Even in my zombie-state, I decided to go swimming tonight and get my mind off of federal and municipal politics (my journalism institutions midterm is tomorrow morning). I was possibly the slowest one there. Grannies on inflatable pool toys would have passed me, but I think it’s worth it for keeping the sanity levels up to a reasonable standard.

I added a link to my latest Charlatan article in the Published Articles section. Feel free to have a look, but let me just say this: the research and quotes may all be mine, but save for a few paragraphs, it’s not really my writing. I suppose it’s partly my fault for not asking for a word limit (though usually the editors send those out with the outline of the story). What’s published is about half of what I submitted (blood, sweat, tears and all) and my beautiful sentences chopped up and sold for parts.

On the bright side, I still need all that research I did for my journalism article so any time spent working through my material is time well-spent. I just wish there was more of my original article that made it to the final copy.

And with that, I can scratch off item 4 on my list of make-up stories to be unravelled at a later date. Now if you’ll excuse me, my bed awaits.

Leave a Reply

