Day 47: It’s about time

Hope has been restored! I After five days of toiling away, I finally got a good interview! I had a phone meeting scheduled with the president of the National Industrial Transportation League this morning at 10:30 a.m. It took a lot of emailing back and forth to get there, but I’m glad we finally got connected. He was the first person I’ve talked to who can discuss transportation without beating me over the head with shipper jargon. We ended up talking for almost half an hour! I got some good quotes.

I also got some good news from CITA itself today (reminder: that’s the Canadian Industrial Transportation Association, the organization I’m profiling for journalism). I thought I wouldn’t get to talk to the president until Oct. 30 (which was really stressing me out because my profile’s due on Nov. 5), but he managed to squeeze in some time to meet with me this Sunday! What a relief! I hope I get an idea of what direction to take my profile after that. Right now, I still have no idea. To be honest, even with the great interview from the NITL president this morning, I have zero interest in shipper needs. But such is the life of journalism – writing about things you don’t care to make everyone else care about them.

A bit of an embarrassing note: I set foot in the library today for the first time of the semester. It’s pretty much halfway through the semester and I’ve never even walked past the library since September. I just didn’t have any classes in that direction this year and saw no reason to trek all the way across campus when I could hole up in my room and have the same cone of silence. Well I was forced to reunite with the hundred-year-old academia sitting on dusty shelves today. Journalism makes us do strange things.

I was supposed to be looking up three recent books that are “clearly relevant” to my feature topic – small eco-friendly businesses. I had already looked up all the tracking numbers beforehand. The plan was to get in and get out. It’s not that I don’t like the library, there’s just something about the ambiance of our library this year that drains me of all livelihood and energy. Maybe it’s all the people thinking profound thoughts all in one building (then again, I suppose that should apply to all buildings on campus). There’s just a very concentrated amount of brain power in there.

I ended up poring over book after book for an hour and a half. I have no idea where the time went. One minute I was cracking the spine on my first book and the next minute it was 6 p.m. and the sun was no longer shining.

And so ends another day. Kitty and I noticed something interesting today. All our classes are getting in the way of journalism! I really think I would be able to complete my journalism assignments better and easier if I didn’t have classes. Of course that raises the question of not having the assignments to complete in the first place, but think of all the limitations on scheduling interviews just because I have class everyday in the 10:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. period. Earlier than that and no one’s at work (they say 9-5 work hours, but it’s really 11-4 from what I’ve noticed). Later than that and everyone’s conveniently “at a meeting” until quitting time.

So my verdict stands: I would much rather be working than going to school. And here are my top five reasons why:

  1. The big “duh” reason: I’d be getting paid for slaving away (getting paid minimum wage is better than paying tuition)
  2. It would be like having one class instead of four or five – one long class, but that’s still significantly less back-and-forth thinking for my brain
  3. I’d actually have a title and company to introduce myself with when calling people for interviews. Then people would stop saying, “So you’re not really a journalist?”
  4. There are no 8:30 a.m. lectures.
  5. No midterms, exams, or essays! It’s not the deadlines I mind. It’s the cramming weeks in advance to write three essays in three hours at 9 a.m. on a Saturday.

I’m sure the working population has enormous qualms with my little list, but I stand by it. So what if I do prefer working than studying? The employed population is hogging all the green grass to themselves.

Leave a Reply

