Day 55: Halloween, a week-long event

I never noticed before, but it appears Halloween is just Oct. 31 for university’s hooligans, or at least not in Carleton. People have been using Halloween as the prime excuse for guzzling down more beers than usual ever since we hit the latter half of October. But today, festivities were exceptionally blatant.

The people on my floor decided to go to Ollie’s tonight. (Ollie’s is a pub on campus. It’s actually called Oliver’s but known more fondly as Ollie’s for frequent visitors and those in the know.) They all headed out at about 9:30 p.m. I decided to meet them later since I had swimming. It was about 10:15 p.m. when I headed out. I ran into a lot of people in costume in the tunnels (the route of choice when it starts getting cold outside). I saw some of the blue people from Avatar – basically blue body paint and what appeared to be a large Persian rug wrapped around a girl – and I believe Snooki was there too, complete with orange tan, big hair, and big … other things.

When I finally got to Ollie’s, I suddenly realized how big Halloween is to Carleton students. The place was packed to bursting! There was a long line snaking out from the pub doors, where two bouncers were blocking people from pushing their way in. Behind the long line was the loud drunken mob of people waiting to get in line. I think I saw a Chilean miner punch Dopey (the dwarf from Snow White). Robin Hood was trying to pick up the Paper Bag Princess while a crowd of (how can I put this delicately) Catholic school girls with … loose morals squealed on the sidelines. And the reverend was beating a clown with the White Rabbit (from Alice in Wonderland)’s ears.

Behind that madness was a ring of (relatively) sober people on the periphery, plotting the safest route through the unruly crowd. And behind them were even more people pushing their way through the main doors. And behind them were dozens of taxis unloading even more people. It certainly didn’t look like I’d be getting into Ollie’s anytime soon. Or at least not until the sun starts to rise.

By 11:15 p.m. I was sitting in my pajamas in the comfort of my room. I think it’s safe to say I tried. I just don’t have the energy to handle Halloween today.

Highlight of the day

I don’t really consider myself to be an Oprah fan, but today Lindsay and I rushed into the TV Room (for the first time since we moved into res), and counted down to 4 p.m. The Von Trapp family from the “Sound of Music” (1965) was having a reunion to celebrate the movie’s 45th anniversary! I love the “Sound of Music!” It was possibly the best Oprah show I’ve ever seen.

All the Von Trapp children have reached (and passed) middle age. Julie Andrews continues to age gracefully, and the dapper Christopher Plummer has turned into a pink-faced, 80-year-old with a bristly white mustache. Lindsay and I got really into it, squealing and gasping audibly. I think the biggest mind-blowing moment was when they brought out four of the real Von Trapp family’s great grandchildren. They’re about my age (16 to 21) and I can’t believe they’re actually related to the original Von Trapps! They still make music too, and sang “Edelweiss.”

The shocker of the hour: Liesel confesses her “giant crush” on the Captain! She may only be 12 years younger than him, and I know they’re actors, but I can’t help it. They seem too much like a real family to me and the whole time, Lindsay and I couldn’t wrap our heads around it. “But he’s her father!” we said over and over. Freud would have a field day. But I suppose at this point, it’s just a funny anecdote from the good ol’ days.

Now I’m craving the “Sound of Music” movie. I must watch it! I’d forgotten how much I love it. It’s just a classic that everyone can appreciate on some level.

It is officially midnight – 12 a.m. on the dot – and I can now officially say: My mom is coming tomorrow! I can’t wait! Apart from the excitement of actually getting to see her, my mumsey has promised to stock my fridge, which I’m really looking forward to. As of right now, only the right side of our fridge has food – Kitty’s side. My side has a couple slices of cheese, half a bottle of ketchup, some honey mustard, butter, a jar of jam, and salad dressing. Basically I have condiments and nothing to put them on. Meanwhile Kitty’s got sausages, pasta, onions, tomatoes, a whole loaf of bread, among other things. That’s where my roomie and I differ!

I’m just about ready to check out. Eyelids are drooping and to be honest I just want Friday to come and go so that it will be Saturday! Oh dear, I just remembered I have early class tomorrow – bright and early at 9 a.m. Our prof was nice enough to push it back half an hour from the official 8:30 a.m. time slot, but I think short of pushing it to the afternoon, he’s never going to be able to accommodate the sleeping patterns of students. Speaking of sleeping patterns … I now declare it bedtime.

Leave a Reply

