Day 57: Let it snow?

Best Saturday ever! Today’s the day my mom drove all the way from Toronto to come visit me for the afternoon. She arrived around noon and brought me so much food! Before, it was always Kitty’s side of the fridge that was well-stocked but oh ho-ho! How the tables have turned! My freezer is full of homemade wontons, beef brisket, plum sauce spare ribs, chicken wings and soya sauce chicken wings. (Ah meat. It may be murder, but it’s tasty, tasty murder.)

My fridge is also well stocked with homemade applesauce (definitely one of my favourites) and this amazing beet stew that sounds disgusting, but trust me, don’t knock it ’til you try it. I thought I hated beans and beets, but I love this stuff. It’s possibly the healthiest thing I actually like. I am definitely going to be well fed for the next few … minutes. Mm.

After unloading all the food and a brand spanking new hot plate as a replacement after the falling out I had with my old hot plate resulting in angry beeping. (We both said some things we didn’t mean, but in the end it was time for us to part ways. I found someone else!) This new one a giant compared to my old one, which was already about twice as big as Kitty’s, so there will definitely be some big fun happening with this one. I can’t wait to start cooking! And that’s saying something.

Mom and I then drove (I love that. Having a car is really a luxury I missed. No more waiting in the cold at forgotten bus stops for buses that never show up. Bring on the heated seats!) to ByWard Market and had lunch at a fish house. It was partly on a recommendation from my friends, but partly because it was cold, windy and drizzling rather steadily with no signs of stopping. This was the closest restaurant. The food was okay, but it’s no Chinese cuisine. I miss Chinese food. Surprise, surprise.

Despite the rain, we strolled around ByWard Market and looked into some little shops, sampled the farmers market apple cider, and stocked up on some fruit for my still-not-quite-full fridge. We headed over to the Rideau Centre dollar store and picked up some hair accessories and stationery to fill our Operation Christmas Child boxes (where you fill a box with anything you want as a Christmas present for children in countries that can’t afford them). The Met (church) is handing out boxes to whoever wants them, and we used to do them every year back when I was in elementary school. The dollar store was pretty sparse, but it’s better than nothing. I may have to make a quick stop by Walmart tomorrow after church just to add a few more filler items.

It was probably the fastest five hours of my life. Before I knew it, it was almost 5 p.m. and Mom had to start heading out so she wouldn’t be caught in the dark. Unfortunately, it was pitch black by 6 p.m. and, as if that wasn’t bad enough, it started snowing. I think this is one of the earliest snowfalls we’ve had in a while, or that could just be my bad memory. It was awful! Within minutes, everything was blanketed in a thin layer of sticky white fluff and the main sidewalks had turned into seas of slush. I hope it goes away tomorrow. I love winter, but not when it comes in October.

This was the best Saturday I’ve had in a while. The extension on my major project took a lot of the stress off me and I actually had a chance to enjoy the weekend today. I think work will have to resume tomorrow, but at least I can breathe! It’s been so long. I’m so glad my mom came to visit! It makes the long stretch to Christmas look just a little bit shorter.

 

One thought on “Day 57: Let it snow?

  1. Aww that sounds so nice! My parents were planning to visit me during Remembrance Day weekend but schedule conflict. I miss home-cooked Chinese food. Like the delicious yet simple home cooking. I really miss home. Sigh.

    HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!!

Leave a Reply

