Day 58: Trick or treat!

Happy Halloween! I didn’t have a costume this year so I missed out on trick-or-treating, but I did get some candy! I went to two church services today: the usual one at 9 a.m. at the Met with Natalie, and the 5 p.m. one at Celebration! Church. If you’ll recall, I went there once at the beginning of the year with a new friend. This time I went on my own since I was having what might be considered a relaxing weekend (for once).

It turns out they were having a bit of a Halloween party of their own – Truck or Treat! Basically, all the participating cars were parked in the parking lot with their trunks facing outwards. Everyone popped their trunks open and decorated them, much the same as someone might decorate their house for trick-or-treaters. Then the trunk-owners, clad in their own costumes, invited passers-by to come take part in some early trick-or-treating. It was perfect for families who have really young kids (young enough to be in bed before it gets properly dark) who came to play some of the carnival games that were set up.

The 5 p.m. service ended up being a Coles Notes version today since everyone wanted to stay outside and enjoy the Halloween festivities. There were buckets and buckets of candy, and some pretty creative trunk themes. The best one I saw was a trunk that was converted into a whale’s mouth. Inside was a stuffed dummy reading a Bible by candlelight with a big name tag on him – Jonas. I thought it was pretty creative, and a little spooky (the whale had big bulging googly eyes).

When everyone was properly frozen, we all headed inside for snacks and the actual service. There was a Halloween party going on afterwards and I would have gone too, except I’d made plans with Lindsay earlier to watch The Sound of Music! And I most certainly did not want to miss this movie night. There’ll be other church events.

So that’s how I spent my Halloween night, gushing over Captain Von Trapp and singing along with Fraulien Maria. It really is one of the best movies I’ve ever seen! Every song is great (except for the reverend mother singing “Climb Every Mountain.” That one just drags on for a really long time!) and every scene is a favourite! Lindsay, Natalie and I were very into that movie. Those three hours just flew by, and before I knew it, my plans to sleep early became yet another failed attempt.

Now I’m off to salvage what little sleep I have left before rising and shining bright and early tomorrow to partake in the exciting ritual of Laundry Day.

2 thoughts on “Day 58: Trick or treat!

  1. I have to say it wasn’t too shabby at all! You get to live in the city that never sleeps, haha. Surely you have more festivities than the sleepy scenes of Ottawa!

    I’m usually sleeping around 12:30 a.m. to 1 a.m. There was one awful night when I had to stay up writing a take-home midterm until almost 3 a.m. but never again! I now resemble a panda.

Leave a Reply

