Day 63: Partay! (or partez)

Today I reaffirmed the many reasons I do not party like a fool every weekend. My friend, Brock, is turning 19 on Monday and he decided to have a spur-of-the-moment birthday party tonight. He used to live on my floor last year and he came to visit me and Kitty a couple weeks ago. He’s a good guy, so I figured it would be nice to stop by his party and drop off a birthday card. I only stayed for a little over an hour … and what a long hour it was.

To be fair, I did enjoy catching up with some of my other floor mates from last year. I saw my can-mate, Danielle (who was already completely drunk by the time I arrived. She kept calling me Vanessa.) And there was a brief moment when I wanted the earth to swallow me up because I didn’t recognize my neighbour from last year. He changed his hair and ditched his signature baseball cap! Embarrassing. There were a bunch of other people I’d kind of forgotten from last year, so it was nice to see them all again.

Meanwhile, everyone else was outside puffing away on whatever they happened to fit into a roll of paper and light on fire. There was a “drinking game” going on, which as far as I could see was just a bunch of already drunk guys sitting around a table flipping cards at each other. I swear the rules to that rule are just: flip a card, take a drink, flip a card, take a drink. Behind them was a very enthusiastic game of beer pong. I have to say people have definitely started to develop technique since those high school beer pong games. At one point, Brock got a whole cup of beer thrown at him. I conveniently stepped out of the way to avoid the splash zone.

In a way, I’m so glad I don’t have a car. I had the bus schedule to blame for leaving early. I like Brock and all my other ex-floor-mates, but I just don’t enjoy any of their … entertainment choices. I think Danielle made me about five different drinks, partly because she likes everyone to be as drunk as she is, and partly because she was so drunk she kept forgetting she’d already given me a drink or two (or five).

It was unbelievably cold tonight too. I was shivering up a storm! I’m just starting to feel my nose again. Thank you, Lasenza for making fuzzy pink boots.

It’s been a long day. I had an early lecture this morning on Canada’s public education system, which was surprisingly interesting, thanks to a good speaker (otherwise I do not recommend reading up on the school systems in Canada. It’s deadly dull). But then it all started to go downhill in Chinese. In my rush to make my morning lecture, I forgot my giant file folder with all my assignments in it and it just so happens that I was supposed to hand in a homework package in Chinese today. I’d finished it a week and a half ago and just forgot to bring it today. Well, what can you do except suck it up and take the late marks. Life’s great, isn’t it?

One final note before I go: Kitty decided to make chocolate croissants again, this time with Lindor chocolates instead of chocolate chips. It was amazing! But I think it was just because they were still warm and the chocolate was still all melted. It was a good pick-me-up after the fail that was Chinese class.

Time to get some shut-eye. I’m going to the Small Business Association of Canada’s second annual Green Home and Lifestyle Showcase tomorrow! (There’s a mouthful.) What is this showcase? You’ll find out tomorrow (or later today I guess as it is now 12:37 a.m.) Where has the time gone?

4 thoughts on “Day 63: Partay! (or partez)

Leave a Reply

