Day 66: Dumb-dumbs

Days like today make me feel bad for my Chinese teacher. She has to put up with a lot of incompetence when she deals with our class. I don’t really understand why people don’t just put in a little more effort and actually try to learn something in that class instead of just sitting there with their mouth hanging open. I just happened to look around today and I saw people gazing blankly out the window, and one person actually put her head down and went to sleep! Why don’t I want to be a teacher? Exhibit A.

So while everyone was sitting like a bump on a log, picking their nose or eating cheesey poofs, our poor laoshi had to go over the same lesson yet again for about the tenth time since the beginning of the semester. We were learning about the patterns involved in changing traditional characters to simplified. It’s pretty consistent actually. I can actually see why people can still read simplified even if they learned traditional (or vice versa). I still think simplified characters are heinous though. All the meaning that comes with traditional characters are just butchered with simplified. The whole art of it is truly lost.

Mourning aside, I did manage to get a  lot done today. Most notably, CKCU (the radio station) is celebrating its 35th anniversary this Saturday. They’re having a dinner celebration and I think I might go and cheer on this little radio community that I just discovered this year. I’ll be on the air this Thursday morning, bright and early at 7 a.m. doing the Environmental News. I think they’re looking for more people to do features, but at this point in time I really don’t have time to do my interviews for journalism and some extra ones on the side for CKCU. Sorry, radio. I do like the feeling of broadcasting live, but school comes first.

I feel like there is so much to do this week and yet there are no real deadlines yet so I have no inclination to go do the things that need to be done. My, that was vague. Let me be more specific. I have a ton of interviews to do for my reporting class’ feature assignment. It’s due at the end of November so I still have time, but I just know there is going to be some major regret if I don’t get a head start on tracking people down now. I guess now would be the relatively calm part of the semester (having survived the midterm rush).

But I’m too tired to think about that now. I’ll think about it tomorrow. After all, tomorrow is another day! (Ten brownie points and a telepathic high-five to whoever can tell me who said those wise words first.)

2 thoughts on “Day 66: Dumb-dumbs

  1. I totally understand about the incompetent people in language classes. All they do is complain about how hard it is but they don’t even try and spend more time understanding the language! It’s such a pain to sit in those classes, as enjoyable as they are.

Leave a Reply

