Day 72: Hallelujah!

Sunday at last! I woke up to a bright shiny morning today and headed to the Met on my own (my Met buddy, Natalie, is having a rough weekend and couldn’t make it to church today), but wasn’t riding solo for long. I ran into a new friend who kept me company for today’s service. Sundays make my week!

From church, I took the shuttle to South Keys and decided to stop by Wal-Mart. My friend Lindsay’s birthday is coming up and I was on the hunt for her present. Before you judge me, let me explain why I was at Wal-Mart looking for my friend’s birthday present. Lindsay mentioned earlier in September how she really wants a Snuggie, and I made a mental note to get one for her. And it’s not just any Snuggie. I wanted the most outrageous one they had. The box calls it “Wild.” It was … leopard print. I can’t wait to give it to her! But there’s still about two weeks before her birthday so I guess I’ll just have to hog all the fun for myself for now.

There was a sale today at Chapters: 25 per cent off all regular-priced items for irewards members! I was so tempted to go buy all those books I’ve had my eye on, but decided to exercise some self-control. I had to save some of my bags for grocery shopping anyway. They’ll have other sales soon … right?

I spent the afternoon being productive so I could head out at 5 p.m. with my Celebration! buddy, Jasmine. We always run to the bus stop thinking we’re going to miss the bus, get there early, and end up standing around for 15 minutes. It’s become a bit of a tradition. You’d think we’d learn. But there was an amusing event to witness today while waiting for the bus.

While we were talking, waiting for the bus to arrive, we suddenly heard a huge thump followed by the sound of something popping and deflating. Everyone at the bus stop turned around. In the parking lot right next to us, a ratty old white car had completely driven onto the curb and popped a tire in the process! The crazy driver was stuck for a while, driving up and down the curb trying to get one of its tires back onto the road. He finally succeeds, screeches the car to a halt, flings the door open and runs off into the bushes! It was bizarre, to say the least. I don’t even know if he ever came back for that car.

The service at Celebration! was great. We were doing Psalms today and you’d be surprised how many songs are based on the Psalms (I guess great songs 2000 years ago still make great songs today). There was only one unfortunate surprise. On our way out of church, we were greeted by a torrential downpour. Crazy weather. What happened to that beautiful sunshine this morning? My mom was telling me it was raining in Toronto and I may have gloated a little bit. That’s what I get. I didn’t have an umbrella or a sweater with a hood so I did the only thing I could do: threw dignity to the wind, held my purse over my head, and splashed gracefully through the puddles to wait for the bus. It was regal … majestic … soggy. I especially enjoyed the rain collecting in my sleeves as I was holding my arms upright to keep my purse in place on my head.

Now I’ve decided to get my blogging done early so I can buckle down and get more work done. The night is still young, I suppose. There’s plenty of time to be productive yet!

One thought on “Day 72: Hallelujah!

  1. See at least your weekend is productive and fun. There’s nothing exciting about mine so I decided to not write anything haha. I’ve always wanted a Snuggie though, but I have no use for one since I have a piece of clothing called sweaters.

Leave a Reply

