Day 74: Brain drain

With just a minute before midnight, I am already up much later than I expected (and much earlier than everyone else’s crazy bedtimes) so I’ll keep it short.

It’s been a very tiring day, one of those where my eyelids are fighting gravity for the whole day. It happens. I did manage to squeeze in three phone interviews today, one of which was a complete surprise. For once, someone was calling me asking if I had time to ask them questions! It was an interesting turn of events and I must say I enjoyed it. Finally I didn’t feel like the one who was chasing after people. Sometimes, we journalists like to get chased too!

Best moment of the day: I got mail, and not just any mail. I got a letter from one classy New Yorker and beloved best friend – Rachel! I think it’s worth mentioning that the stamps on it were possibly the coolest stamps I’ve ever seen. They’re about four times larger than a regular stamp and they had cartoons on them! One was of Archie, Veronica and Betty, and the other was Calvin and Hobbs. That letter definitely made my day. You’d be surprised how much Rachel can cram into one tiny page. The entire card was one solid block of text. Very impressive.

Today was also the first time I sat in on a POiNT group meeting. I still don’t know what POiNT stands for, but it’s kind of a small group branch off from Celebration! Church and the Carleton students meet every 2:30 p.m. on Tuesdays in the TV room on my floor (very convenient). It’s basically a chance to catch up with everyone, encourage each other with whatever people might be going through, and celebrate with each other over successes. They’re in the middle of watching this DVD series called “Does God exist?” I found it pretty interesting. It’s about proving God exists using science. I think I’m going to try making this part of my Tuesday routine.

I tried to keep busy and get work done for the rest of the night, but my brain decided to shut down. Swimming recharged me for about an hour, during which I was providing some editing services. My little cousin (who isn’t so little anymore I suppose) is applying for university this year, and I’m sure we all remember what a pain those admission essays were. I was giving them a look and offering some pointers. Before I knew it, it was 11:50 p.m. Where did my night go?

It’s going to be an early morning tomorrow. I got a story from the Charlatan on the student protests in Britain after the government announced a tuition hike  that basically triples the university fees. I have to call people in the UK, which is always exciting (I believe the professional term would be: bring on those yummy accents!) but the time difference is not ideal. They’re five hours ahead of us so, assuming everyone still works 9 a.m.-5 p.m. office hours, everyone is going to be clocking out at 12 p.m. our time. What does that mean for me? Well it means I get to spend some quality time with my land line bright all morning long. Super exciting!

In these last few minutes, I’ve managed to read through all the background articles and get my questions ready for tomorrow. As long as I can wake up, I’ll be all set to go tomorrow morning. But for now, it’s time to get my drained brain to bed.

2 thoughts on “Day 74: Brain drain

  1. Yay! Whew I’m happy it arrived since I didn’t know if I put enough stamps on the envelope, wrote the correct address etc. I could have ordered stamps like ones that support breast cancer and the like, but I like the comics! Those stamps are pretty large though haha!

Leave a Reply

