Day 76: Another day, another week

Thursdays are definitely my favourite day of the week. Maybe it’s relief of having made it through the worst part of the week, but there’s just something satisfying about Thursdays. More likely, it’s the thought of Friday coming closer and closer.

Today was a pretty relaxing day. I spent the morning making phone calls and getting an interview done for journalism. I also tried to make more calls to the UK cabinet but the government’s always hard to reach. I sent out more emails, just kind of throwing the net out and seeing what I’ll catch (thought I’d throw in a fishing metaphor there).

My interview for my journalism feature was deadly dull. The guy I was interviewing was from Egypt and he had a really thick accent. I’m usually okay with deciphering accents, but not when people are talking to me about ethanol, molecules and other chemistry-related things. It was so hard to keep this guy on track! I’d ask him something like, “How did you come up with the idea for your business?” And he’d start telling me about hydrogen molecules. I felt my brain turning into goo. I suppose extra interviews can’t hurt. The worst that can happen is I just end up not using any of it.

There was one frustrating moment when he kept asking me where I was going to publish this. I must have repeated myself about five times: This is an assignment for school, which I’m hoping to publish. (It’s the standard answer we’re supposed to give whenever we’re doing journalism assignments.) And his only response was, “Which newspaper?” Goodness, I didn’t even know how to respond. I think I just repeated my same standard answer but slower and more enunciated. Some people are just irritating.

To be fair, I did almost forget about that interview. I ended up calling him six minutes late, which never happens because I’m usually counting down to Interview Time. I always start dialing one minute early since the calling card makes me go through a lot of automated lady menus. That‘s how prepared I usually am, but today I just got carried away with my UK article and before I knew it, I was late. Whoops.

I only had one class today: fundamentals of reporting. It was actually a fun class today. We all brought in features and four people volunteered to share theirs with the class. We basically put it up on the projector, read it through and talk about what works and what doesn’t. It was great. And the best part was … we got let out early!

With all that extra time, I decided to be productive. I caught up on my shows and made a birthday card for Lindsay. Thursday afternoons have just turned into my lazy days. I feel like I deserve it after all that slaving away. I think the feel of the “weekend” is just spreading. First it was just the Sabbath, then people started going to church on Sunday and that became a day of rest too. And then people start checking out early on Friday afternoons, or taking Friday off altogether. Now my Thursdays are feeling weekend-sy. It’s only a matter of time before the seven days in a week turn into weekend and Monday (I’m a firm believer in the anti-Monday sentiments of the world. No amount of weekend sprawl is going to change the public hatred of Mondays.)

Nonsense aside, I did manage to reach the word limit on my UK article. It’s still pretty rough, but there’s time to clean it up later. I think I’m going to wait until tomorrow to see if I get any response from the government before calling it quits on them and just using the quotes I borrowed off other publications. At least the worst is over.

And before I go, I think I’ll share the Crisis of the Day: I had swimming today and for some reason I was super speedy and managed to get back to res before 9:45 p.m. instead of the usual 10 p.m. I was feeling pretty good about myself, until I realized my swimsuit was nowhere to be seen. I had left it in the change room at the gym all the way on the other side of campus! So I ended up making an unnecessary trek through the tunnels. My legs are killing me! (They’ve got a weird twitch going on. That’s always fun … attractive.)

And to end on a happier note, here’s the Hoorah of the Day: It’s snowing! And not that yucky snow where you think, “Goodness, time to hole up in the basement and live on Campbells for the next four months!” This was the really light, soft, slow-falling snow. The kind that shows up on postcards. I can’t wait until Christmas!

Official countdown: 7 more days of class!

Leave a Reply

