Day 81: Finally got crackin’

I’m proud to announce that my feature assignment is finally officially off the ground. I’m about 450-something words into my very rough first draft. At least that horrible feeling of staring at a blank word document with the flashing cursor in the top left corner is done and over with. I’m still not entirely sure where this article is going so I hope it doesn’t turn out like “kitchen sink” writing (which is my prof’s term for an article with everything thrown in with the hopes that the reader will find something they like). For now I think it’s best to just write and leave the polishing for later. Of course, later I will probably wish I spent more time polishing as I went along.

Oh lovely, the guy next door decided to whip out his guitar and strum away again. I suppose it’s considered early for him. Usually it’s around 12:30 a.m. Lucky me.

I invited Natalie to POiNT group today at 2:30 p.m. in the TV room. We were talking about morals and ethics and how you can’t really have either if you don’t believe there’s a God of some sort. It was pretty interesting and it was nice to see everyone. I like checking in with them throughout the week, not just on Sundays.

Natalie made coconut macaroons today. It’s crazy how much my friends like to bake. I guess on one hand I’m very well-fed. On the other, there’s a much greater possibility of me rolling home in a dump truck for Christmas because I’m going to be 600 pounds. Too much love!

Today was also the first time in about a week that I actually saw Lindsay. She went home to Toronto for the past few days to celebrate her birthday early with her parents. I can’t wait for this weekend when we’re going out for her actual birthday (which isn’t technically until Monday). There’s going to be sushi and Harry Potter. Awesome! I feel like watching Harry Potter requires some sort of costume. Maybe I should dress up. I’ll be the Whomping Willow.

I realize today’s post is kind of chaotic and all over the place, but please bear with me. It’s nothing compared to the tornado in my brain. I feel like there’s so much going on even though I only have one more assignment to work on. How is that even possible? It’s madness. Sheer madness. My attention span could fit in a teaspoon. How did it come to this?

On the plus side I had swimming today. I’m completely wiped, but that’s nothing compared to what lies in store for us on Thursday. I just found out that there’s one fitness test per semester: 1500 m timed swim. That’s 60 lengths! Now normally we swim over 2000 m every session, but there’s breaks and drills and changes of pace. It’s never been one long timed swim. Obviously no one can sprint 60 lengths, so I think I’m going to have to come up with some sort of strategy if I want to survive this. Lots of people have already chickened out, but I think this is just going to have to be one of my challenges for the week. Oh boy.

Well I think it’s been a pretty relaxing day. I’ve had very little inclination to get to work, but for the two hours I actually buckled down and hit the books, I think I’ve gotten pretty good results. And in the end, isn’t that all I can ask for?

3 thoughts on “Day 81: Finally got crackin’

    1. Thanks! I’m not entirely sure about the details, but I think it’s just as fast as you can go. I think I’ll be ambitious and aim for 30 minutes, but we’ll see how that pans out after about the 30th length, haha. I miss our swim sessions!

Leave a Reply

