Day 85: Ahh …

It took 85 days, but I finally got a day of rest and relaxation. It’s nice! I didn’t realize how much I missed that carefree feeling of freedom. Today marks the day that I finished my last big assignment of the year. (My feature assignment’s due on Monday so there’s still time to edit, but it’s essentially done.) I got a chance to just breathe out and enjoy life. It’s been so long!

I actually slept in to a decent hour today, nearly 10 a.m. (which is not even near the “sleep-in” time for my cohort, but I think it’s a respectable time. It’s about two hours later than I usually get up, so it’s definitely an improvement.) I was feeling very well-rested and spent my morning getting the last of my work out of the way. I did my readings. I filled in my notes. I finished my feature. I studied for the Chinese test. Everything was ship-shape and ready to go. By the time 3 p.m. rolled around, I was pretty satisfied with my work. So satisfied in fact, that I decided to hit the gym.

I was beginning to forget how much time I spend at the gym during exam season. At the peak of exam time last year, I think I was at the pool five times a week. It was crazy. I just really needed to get some physical activity in there before my brain exploded with profound thoughts.

Kitty was baking chocolate cupcakes for Lindsay’s birthday party tomorrow. I can’t wait! There’s going to be sushi and there’s going to be Harry Potter. What more can I ask for? On the down side, I won’t be able to go to Celebration! for the 5 p.m. service. That’s kind of a bummer since I usually try to schedule everything around church, but I suppose just this once is okay for Lindsay’s birthday.

I washed up and headed out with Jasmine at about 6:30 p.m. Ryan invited us to his house along with our little group from Celebration! to watch Expelled at his house. It’s movie about how the world of science has actively shut down all arguments that mention Intelligent Design when discussing evolution. I was pretty interesting. Ben Stein compared breaking down this taboo on ID with breaking down the Berlin Wall. I thought it was an interesting analogy. Stein’s not arguing for or against ID, but it’s more of an attempt to find an explanation for this censorship in science academia. I really enjoyed it.

Well tomorrow’s going to be an early morning, so I think it’s time to hit the hay. I can’t wait until tomorrow! Sundays are always my favourite day.

Leave a Reply

