Day 87: Let the lull begin

I’m officially feeling the lull between the end of classes and the start of exams. There are officially five more days of classes left, and my brain seems to have skipped ahead to the Christmas holidays. It feels like a warm fuzzy blanket has just kind of tucked itself around my brain and I have no inclination to start studying at all.

What’s scary is that my first exam is next Thursday. How did that sneak up on me? I think I’ll have to start hitting the books tomorrow. Today shall be my last day of grace.

It was a rather uneventful day where the highlight was possibly that it has now reached an acceptable time for me to head off to bed. I’m just so exhausted. I had a terrible sleep last night, all thanks to my lovely posters. At about 4 a.m., I awoke to the sound of paper crinkling. I force my sleepy eyes open and what should I see but  a poster making a jump for it. Let me tell you, that is not a fun thing to wake up to. I just see this giant black mass making its slow descent onto my face. I had to haul myself out of my cozy covers to slap that poster back on the wall.

You’d think that would be the end of it, but my poster’s a trooper. About ten minutes later, I hear that ominous crinkling again. Oh infernal poster, how you plague me! I leaped out of bed and slapped with unnecessary hostility at the poster. That left me paranoid for the rest of the night and I couldn’t get back to sleep until the sun started to rise.

It was just a painful day where nighttime couldn’t come fast enough, which was helped along by a very awkward run-in at the caf. This just goes to show nothing good can come from eating dinner at the caf. I ran into this very awkward guy I know from church. He’s one of the few people I know who are not only brewers of awkward moments, but also appears to bask in awkwardness. I mean this guy actually seems to like making other people feel awkward, which was not fun for me after I got hoodwinked into eating dinner with him at the caf. He just swooped out of nowhere in the tunnels, and there was no getting out of it. That’s what I get for being friendly.

I think now would be as good a time as any to just bow out and hope for a better tomorrow.

One thought on “Day 87: Let the lull begin

  1. I know the horrors of posters falling in the middle of the night. I experienced that on the first night when my poster went up. You just start to hear the tape crackling down and then the entire thing is hovering you. Unlike you trying to slap it back on, I just pulled it off my wall and tossed it to the ground to worry about it in the morning.
    My first exam is next Tuesday o_____o

Leave a Reply

