Day 92: The morning after

Don’t panic. There may not have been a blog yesterday, but I’m not dead! I feel the need to explain the craziness of yesterday.

Day 91: C4C Christmas Banquet

I finished classes by 1:30 p.m. yesterday and I was in the mood for hot chocolate from Truffle Treasures. I got the peanut butter hot chocolate and it was possibly the best hot chocolate I’ve ever had! It was thick and creamy with the smooth peanut butter all melted and swirled in with real 71.8% dark chocolate. I was sipping that big mug of hot chocolate in a state of complete and utter happiness. Where has it been all my life?

After finishing every last drop of that magical mug of sweet bliss, I headed back to school, picked up a couple sheets of stamps (I think Christmas cards are more fun to get when you get them in the mail. Who doesn’t like getting mail, really? And by mail, I mean actual cards, letters and packages. Bills and ads don’t count) and headed back to res to work on my Christmas cards. I should have studied, but I was still riding the proud wave from Thursday when I successfully kept up with my study schedule.

When 5:30 p.m. rolled around, I was all dressed up and ready to catch the bus with some other C4C people to head to this restaurant called Thai Coconut. It was the annual Christmas banquet. This year, it was a Thai buffet. I never realized how much I loved curry. I’ve really missed Thai food, especially when the restaurant is run by Cantonese-speaking people from Cambodia. Authenticity is key.

There was a “regift exchange,” which I didn’t participate in but it was a lot of fun to watch. Everyone who wants to be a part of it brings in something from their house (you’re actually not allowed to go out and buy something new), wrap it up and make it part of the exchange. There was everything from sparkly shoelaces to homemade cookies to a toaster and a kettle. One poor guy picked up a box that blatantly said Do Not Open If You Are a Dude. He got some very pretty bracelets and perfume. He had it coming.

As if we didn’t stuff ourselves enough with Thai food, we had a McFormal after party. We all headed to the McDonald’s at the plaza across the street and got ice cream. Oh Oreo McFlurry, it’s been a while. By that time, everyone was so hopped up on sugar and Christmas cheer that everything was hilarious. It was so much fun. We looked like fools all dressed up sitting in McDonald’s. We got a lot of weird looks from people.

After McDonald’s, I headed back to res, grabbed my pajamas, a toothbrush and a sleeping bag. There are four C4C girls who are housemates and they threw a slumber party for all the girls. It’s been quite a while since I’ve been to a sleepover with more than 20 people. It was insane! We were playing absolutely ridiculous games like charades under a blanket. It’s exactly what it sounds like. Someone acts out a celebrity while under a blanket. Who comes up with that?

There was a good hour spent playing this very verbal game where you can’t show your teeth so we all looked and talked like a bunch of toothless old grannies. If someone sees your teeth (which was often considering no one could keep a straight face and let me tell you, it is not easy to laugh without showing your teeth), you have to do these ridiculous tasks like sing in opera whatever random words people throw at you. (I think one of the words was “Pickleweasel.”)

At about 1 a.m. we all made a field trip. Some of the girls lived about five minutes away and they had Christmas movies so we went over to raid their DVDs. There may have been some choreographed dancing on the walk over. I’m pretty sure people who were driving by thought we were drunk. I didn’t even care. When it’s 1:30 a.m., -10 degrees and you’re twirling around like a ballerina on the sidewalk in a mob of about 10 girls, you don’t really have time to worry about what passersby are thinking.

Some people watched Elf (2003) while dozing off at around 2:30 a.m. I was upstairs with some other people who were not quite ready to settle down and be quiet yet. We were just lying around talking about the most random things until the wee hours of the morning. I think at one point we found out one girl hated the word “moist,” “lube” and “birthed” so naturally we spent a good 20 minutes making up ridiculous sentences and variations using those words, all in good fun of course.

Which brings us back to Day 92: The morning after

I ended up crashing on the hardwood floor using my sweater as a pillow. I woke up incredible sore (I know what it feels like now to be 80) at around 10:30 a.m. The girls who actually in the house actually made breakfast for us! That was really nice of them, considering there were at least 15 of us (we lost a few people who had to get up early and go to work). There were pancakes and sausages and fruit salad – a regular smorgasbord.

By the time 11:30 a.m. rolled around, we all made our way out to catch a very crowded bus (which was made so much roomier with all our pillows and sleeping bags blocking the aisles). I got back to res around noon. I am pooped! A nap sounds great, but I feel like I should study. It is now past 3 p.m. and I haven’t even cracked open my study notes. I’ve been working on my Christmas cards, but I think it’s time to stop procrastinating and get back to reality.

Kitty and I are ordering Chinese takeout for dinner tonight. It’s going to be great! I feel like fake Chinese delivery is an experience all university kids need to try at least once. Bring on the chicken balls!

One thought on “Day 92: The morning after

Leave a Reply

