Day 113: Merry Christmas!

Well now that it’s midnight, I suppose I completely missed Christmas Eve. On with Christmas! Maybe it’s a sign that I’m getting old and boring, but I’m not as pumped about Christmas this year as I used to be. I hope that isn’t going to be some sort of trend. I used to stare in absolute awe and disbelief when older people told me they no longer stayed awake all night on their birthday eves, wriggling with the excitement of turning one year older. I simply couldn’t fathom it. How could someone not look forward to their birthday? But alas here it is. It starts with a holiday like Christmas, and then before you know it I’m going to be forgetting my birthday and getting older without noticing it. Well I suppose after the first 19 Christmases, it’s not much of a surprise anymore. Still, I like Christmas. So bring on the good will and spirit of giving!

Day 112: Merry Christmas Eve

It was a lazy day, as Christmas Eves should be. My mom and I went to the movies and saw The King’s Speech (2010) starring Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush. I had heard good reviews of it, and the trailer was amazing, but I had no idea how fabulous the movie actually was. Firth plays King George VI, Britain’s reigning monarch during the Second World War. He had the misfortune of having to assume the throne after his … free-sprited brother abdicated the crown to marry an American divorcée. And as if that wasn’t bad enough, he had to do it all while trying to overcome a stammer. He consults a speech therapist (Rush) who not only helps him deliver his many wartime speeches to the British people, but encourages him as a friend to have confidence in himself. It was a really satisfying movie with excellent performances from all the actors. (I was especially blown away by the fact that Helena Bonham Carter – who played the creepy Bellatrix Lestrange in the Harry Potter series – actually pulled off the role of a loving and supportive wife to King George VI.) It is most definitely a movie worth winning and I certainly would be both surprised and disappointed if it did not get nominated and indeed win an award or two.

We went to a family friend’s house for Christmas Eve feast of mammoth proportions. The food was delicious, and there was so much of it! It’s impossible to leave their house without sporting a belly that would make Santa proud. They take such good care of us. My mom and I left with a “CN Tower” of leftovers packed neatly into containers (a.k.a. tomorrow’s dinner). This is the epitome of a home-cooked meal. How difficult they make it to even entertain the thought of heading back to school and living off Tim Hortons again.

Well I suppose Christmas doesn’t officially begin until you wake up in the morning. So on that note, Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night!

Leave a Reply

