Day 5: Brake and reverse

I have a question: Why, after three semesters of telling us condense our writing and say things in as few words as possible, are we suddenly being forced to write a 600-word article for an event that is worth 180 words tops?

It’s our latest assignment. We had a mock news conference in my journalism reporting class on Thursday (I would have said yesterday, but – oh, would you look at the time – it’s past midnight) where our teacher pretended to be an RCMP spokesman to tell us all about how the Parliament exploded. And this was right after we had our very basic review of news values: the who, what, when, where, why and how (simple stuff they teach you back in Gr. 2 with the hamburger paragraphs).  Alright, so we have a where – Parliament – and we have a what – KABOOM – and we even have a when – 11:33 a.m. – but everything else is “unknown.”

I ask you, how do you stretch that out into 600 words? Okay, so he was lenient and said we could stop at 400 if we were desperate, but even that is proving to be extremely difficult. I just feel like we’re completely doing a 180 on everything we learned so far, but I suppose our teacher has his reasons. I can’t wait until I become aware of them because there’s only so much I can do with such limited information. (It’s a one-source story! That’s a big no-no usually since you need to hear at least two sides of the story and interview more people. But it is a class exercise so I think it’s an exception.)

With only one class today, Communication Law, I was free to enjoy the weekend by 11:30 a.m. That class was actually more interesting than I thought. Maybe it’s because I already expected law to be a little bit dry, but I didn’t mind learning all those Latin terms that judges like to throw around in the court room. It reminded me of Legally Blonde (2001). What a shame I didn’t left my big fluffy pen and a heart-shaped, sparkly notebook at home.

I spent the rest of the day doing a great myriad of things, very few of which were academic related. Of particular interest, I was picked to be an intern by a new magazine (which cannot be named yet because of a confidentiality contract I agreed to). It’s not paid and so far it’s just copyediting work, but it’s going to be my first time working with a real publication that’s not created by a school. I’m pretty excited about it.

On another note, to my horror, I had to make another trip to get groceries. Goodness I go through food really quickly. I thought I had enough to feed an entire army and their families for the next 20 years. Three days later that was no longer the case.

I feel like it’s already Saturday (which it is technically, but you know what I mean.) It’s nice to feel like I have an extra long weekend. That’s the plus side to having early morning classes. There’s my silver lining! I’ll have to keep reminding myself of that as the semester goes on.

Leave a Reply

