Day 6: All’s well that ends well

It’s been a lovely start to the weekend. I spent most of the day trying to get my work done. It wasn’t the most interesting of days, but it was certainly productive. It’s a good thing really because I’ve got a busy week ahead of me. I have a story to write for the Charlatan, and I’m still trying to get some work done with the magazine I’m interning with, so that is keeping me plenty busy. On top of all that, I still have to think of a feature idea for my journalism assignment.

I was really tired today. The Rideau canal opened today officially for people to go skating. I wanted to go but I don’t have any skates. My friends and I were supposed to go together but they said they had groceries to buy and I was finishing a journalism assignment. But later on, when I was at the gym, my friends changed their minds and went shopping for skates without me. I guess I’ll have to find some time to do that later on. I can’t believe I didn’t go skating a single time last year. I feel like everyone who lives in Ottawa should try skating on the canal at least once. That’s my goal for this year.

For the rest of the night, I was planning on being productive and getting as much work out of the way as possible, but then, around 9 p.m., my friends Lindsay, Doug and Natalie came over so goodbye homework. Fortunately, I got all my news reading done before they arrived. Like I said, it was a productive day.

So my friends not only went grocery-shopping but they made a stop at the LCBO so obviously we had to try out some of their purchases. One sip led to another and now I think the best thing to do would be to go to bed. It’s nice to have a nice of not worrying about work once in a while. I guess we’d better make good use of this time before school gets too hectic because I don’t foresee anymore nights like this until April.

On that note, I think it’s in everyone’s best interest if I just go to bed. I’ll take a quick scan of the CBC news (we’ll see how literate I am in this state. I’m actually relying on the red squigglies that show up under words to tell me if I spell words wrong right now.) and then I’m off to sleep off some of this “fun.” Nighty night.

Leave a Reply

