Day 12: An early birthday

This is possibly the best birthday present I could have gotten. I’m proud to announce I am now home sweet home in Toronto and loving every second of it. As soon as my one and only class was over today (media law), I was packed up and on my way to the airport (that’s right, I flew home. No five-hours of quality time with Via Rail for me! I saved four whole hours!)

Strange … someone’s at the door and it’s 9:30 p.m. Watch it be the Mormons or Jehovah’s Witness on a night mission.

I stand corrected! We had a brief but very enthusiastic visit from our family friends who came to drop off an early birthday present for me. Starbucks money! Isn’t life just swell when you get to feed your addictions? I can just see that coming in handy when work starts to pile up and I need to revisit the magical healing springs of the triple shot latte. Venti of course.

It’s hard to believe I’ve been back for about six hours already. I feel so relaxed, even though school hasn’t really been put on hold at all. There’s something about being home in the peace and quiet and of course spending time with my mom that makes all that school stress just melt away (or at least I get to shove it all onto the back burner, out of sight and mind for Future Veronica to deal with when this weekend reaches its inevitable end).

My mom and I had our traditional sushi-movie night, and I’m still a firm believer that one can never have too much sushi. It just never gets old! But the real highlight comes tomorrow. You’ll have to find out about that tomorrow, but that is definitely going to be the main event of my birthday celebration and a big fat present from my mom (as if the plane tickets weren’t enough!) There’s a reason to stay tuned.

For now I suppose it’s time to press the Pause button on my mini vacation and read the news. It sure is good to be back!

Leave a Reply

