Day 16: The technological curse

I officially have reason to think I should never again be allowed to operate technology. Everything I touch seems to throw tantrums, all having to do with compromising the screen’s functioning. I brought an external monitor to school when I went home last weekend. It’s been all of two days and already it appears to have called it quits.

How did it happen? I can’t say. All I know was it was working before I left for swimming, and when I came back I couldn’t see a thing on that screen. I tried unplugging and replugging all the wires. I sang encouraging songs to it. I rebuked it with light tapping, but that only seemed to anger it. I’ve also been turning it on and off, over and over again in the hopes it will recover and magically come back to life. But isn’t doing the same thing while hoping for different results a sign of insanity? Who knows, I’ll try anything.

It was such a busy day! I’m absolutely exhausted. For one thing, I’ve been clomping around campus in heels and full business attire in preparation for my meeting with my internship boss. It was so painful and I nearly fell to my death a couple dozen times while teetering up and down the stairs and through the slush and salt. There are many people who are completely at ease on heels, almost like returning to their natural environment with a strange level of comfort that seems better than bare feet. I am not one of these people. I will avoid heels whenever possible, mostly because someone always makes it a point to ask me why I’m wearing heels when I’m already towering over the general population. That’s always reassuring. I’m feeling the blisters tonight!

Even without the interview this afternoon, my day was packed. I was in class from 8:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. I actually fell asleep on the bus, which I usually try to avoid. Even now I’m having trouble maintaining my train of thought. I’m just glad this day has come to an end. Tomorrow’s nothingness will be greatly appreciated.

3 thoughts on “Day 16: The technological curse

  1. Right click on wall paper to get to advance display setting. See if there is any option routing display to external monitor. Good luck.

    1. Thanks, the connection is working fine. But I think the problem is the screen on my external monitor. It’s as if the back light has died. If I hold the screen up to a light, I can make out the windows and all the programs running on the screen, but it’s just completely dark. It was the same problem my laptop before I got it fixed this past August.

Leave a Reply

