Day 20: Bringing home the Macbook Pro!

Today I realized how long I’d been living a dark, primitive, Amish existence. What was I doing all those years? How did I survive before I discovered THE MACBOOK PRO?

Maybe it’s become a cliche, but my friend Rachel says it best, “Once you go Mac, you never go back!” And I can’t think of any truer words. I’ve officially converted. No more PCs for me. Macs all the way! (It just goes to show how little loyalty counts for nowadays.)

I’m not sure exactly what it is about the Mac that makes me love and adore it so much. Maybe it’s the shiny aluminum casing that never overheats. Maybe it’s the amazing touchpad that lets you click anywhere you want and lets you swipe every which way with two, three or even four fingers. Or perhaps it’s how clean it all looks before it starts to gather dust and stains. Whatever the reason, I’m going to cherish it and love it forever and ever!

Today was pretty much all about the Mac. I was up and at ’em, rising and shining at 9:30 a.m. I thought I’d be a lot sleepier, but I guess I was just too excited to sleep anymore. I hopped on the bus and went to the Apple store downtown, hogged one of those geniuses to myself for an hour, and bing bang boom! By 1:30 p.m., I was the proud owner of a Macbook Pro.

For the rest of the day, I was busy gushing over it, installing the software and basking in its glow. Then of course, I had to entertain the many admirers who came to give me some Mac crash courses. I think I’ve learned a lot, considering I didn’t even know how to restart it. I’m not ashamed to say I had to Google how to turn off a Mac. There were only two instructions: Apple Menu > Restart.

Excellent. Now where’s the Apple Menu? Turns out that little apple logo in the top left corner was an icon for the menu. I thought it was just decoration. How far I’ve come!

I’m still in the process of getting used to everything, but I think it should be pretty easy to pick up. My greatest accomplishment? I found the Mac equivalent of PC’s ctrl+backspace (I have to admit I was a little frustrated that there’s only one delete button instead of a backspace and delete.). Hey, I am a big fan of backspacing a whole word at a time! Luckily, Apple has thought ahead and given us the option+delete. Now my life is complete.

Well it’s time to stare lovingly into my Macbook’s monitor in a manner that would make people puke. I can’t help it. It’s just so worthy of admiring, which is a shame because I really need to read the news and do my homework. Oh Apple, how you torment me.

4 thoughts on “Day 20: Bringing home the Macbook Pro!

  1. I’m glad you love your MAC Book Pro! Pretty soon, you will be changing your BB to Iphone4 then you will be in complete “Apple World”. Now, we just have to convert your mom so that she can join in on the glory.

    1. Oh yes, I have fully embraced the glory of the Apple world. I don’t know about ditching my Blackberry just yet (I’m still rather fond of it), but I suppose it’s only a matter of time before Apple creeps into the rest of my life and takes over.
      As for my mom, she gets an upgrade too: a shiny red Vaio with a flickering screen! What a lucky lady.

  2. Welcome to the Mac world! Before you know it, you’re going to switch to the iPhone. Get a .mac/AIM account and we can iChat! Plus I have many application recommendations for you like Google Quick Search which will make keeping icons in your dock useless. Finder >>>>> Windows Explorer, ‘nuf said.

    1. Is iChat something like MSN? People really need to standardize it into one server so I don’t have about half a dozen accounts that I never use.
      I look forward to those app recommendations! I’ve been told my Mac is still very much un-personalized at the moment, so I’m open to whatever apps people have found mind-blowing. In fact, I think I’ll look into Google Quick Search right now, thanks!

Leave a Reply

