Day 21: Oh snap

We lucky Ontarians get a taste of what those Prairie-dwellers have been complaining about all winter – a biting cold snap. I don’t know about everyone else, but the weather here in Ottawa today was absolute torture! It was about-36 degrees with the windchill with a frostbite warning in effect.

While Natalie and I were waiting for the bus to church, I thought I was going to lose a couple limbs to the cold. My legs were burning, if you can even call it burning. Just imagine the pain of burning, but take away the heat. It was a cold burn (freezer burn?). I like to think that is exactly what it would feel like if hell froze over. It was awful! My eyes were watering and I couldn’t even keep them open because I felt like my contacts were actually freezing in between blinks. Every time I inhaled, it was like my nostrils were pinching together. But the worst part was definitely the wind. It has a way of finding all the little cracks and slits in your clothes and just blows a great big, bone-chilling gust of cold air right into your very core. It was most unpleasant, but at least it was sunny.

After coming back from church, I refused to go out again for the rest of the day. Unfortunately, that meant I couldn’t go to Celebration! Church today. I’m sorry, but if it’s -36 with the sun, there’s no way I’m going out there after the sun sets. I like having all my fingers and toes intact. I think God will understand.

Lindsay, Doug (Lindsay’s boyfriend), Natalie and I ordered sushi delivery for dinner and watched Night in the Museum. I probably should have been doing homework, but sometimes you just need a day to procrastinate and be with your friends.

I can’t believe it’s going to be my Birthday Eve Eve in 45 minutes. How quickly my 19th year has gone by. So much has happened in the second decade (I suppose a lot happened in the first decade too, but I didn’t really have a conscious thought process for almost half of it, so I don’t think that counts). It makes me wonder what it’s going to be like when I’m counting down to my 30th Birthday Eve Eve.

Well enough reminiscing. I’m all bundled up in warm pajamas, a fuzzy robe and fuzzy pink boots, and I hope you all have something warm to snuggle up in too. It’s going to be a chilly night so keep those core temperatures up lest you want to wake up with footsicles.

I think it’s time to get back to work before hitting the hay (what an odd expression). I’m still loving the Mac! It’s officially my new best friend. It just needs a name. I can’t wait until Tuesday when I can bring it to lecture and show it to the world! But for now, it can take its place of honour on my desk and light up my room with its radiance and beauty.

Leave a Reply

