Day 22: Bon voyage

My mom left for Hong Kong today and it appears she took my good fortune along with her. It’s just been one of those days where a lot of little things start adding together to make you want to crawl under the covers, go to sleep and wait for tomorrow to come.

There’s something weird going on in my Chinese class. I never seem to get the homework when the teacher passes it out to the class. I’ve already walked out once before without the homework and had to borrow Kitty’s to make a copy of it. I don’t know how it happens. I thought I was paying attention to the entire class, but somehow I always seem to be missing something, which makes me what else in my life has just gone whooshing over my head while I was under the sorely mistaken impression that I was conscious.

On the bright side, I only had one class today. I went skating with Lindsay, Doug and Natalie as per our usual Monday routine (this is only our second time, but I’m going to call it a routine). I made huge progress on the ice today. I can stop! It may not be very  graceful, but I can officially stop now and it’s a grand feeling. I’m ready for that Rideau Canal with its lack of walls!

That is sadly when the day started speeding by way too quickly for my liking. I spent the whole afternoon being extremely productive in non-academic chores. All those little things that needed to be done, I did them.

The tiresome list of monotonous humdrum:

  • Laundry: I realized on my way out of the laundry room that I had dropped a towel and my washing machine had already started. At least Kitty can throw it in with her laundry tomorrow (the perks of having a roommate).
  • Garbage and recycling
  • Vacuuming: winter salt really is most unpleasant. I nearly gagged trying to clean out the vacuum after it sucked up all that salt and dirt grinding around on our apartment floor. Those dust bunnies just keep getting bigger and bigger. They’re more like dust mammoths.
  • Grocery shopping: this was possibly the most time-consuming one of all. We’re currently having a bit of a crisis on fourth Frontenac in that our storage room has un out of toilet paper. There’s an awkward situation if I ever saw one. Well I had to pick up some tissues for Kitty and me to “tie us over” (her words) until the storage room magically refills itself again, along with the enormous stockpiles of food I now need to keep in the fridge ever since I cancelled my meal plan. (I decided I’d had enough of the cafeteria.)

All that surprisingly took me all the way to 6 p.m. and before I knew it, tap dancing had come and gone and I was sitting at my laptop reading news before bed. Where did the day go? And that’s not even the worst part.

The real kicker

I spent the entire weekend working on my politics assignment, which is due on Feb. 1. I thought I’d be proactive and get a kick start on it since I have a bunch of other assignments due around that same time. I finished about 2/3 of the assignment and I was feeling pretty good about myself … until today. Well, I suppose this will teach me not to be such a keener. I just received an email from my TA. In essence, he completely changed the assignment so I’ll pretty much have to restart the entire thing. He prefaced the email by saying something along the lines of assuming no one had started anyway. (Well you know what happens when you assume … ) So now it seems I wasted my weekend when I could have been working instead on the journalism assignment due this Thursday. At most I’ll be able to keep my topic choice for the assignment, but I feel like I’ve wasted a colossal amount of time.

It’s times like these I’m glad I don’t have to struggle through all this on my own. Jesus says, “Come to me, all who labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 12:8), and I find that especially comforting now, and probably even more so in the weeks to come when the mountains of schoolwork pile up and squash me into something akin to a pancake. I think I’ll get some sleep and start over tomorrow. My God is always faithful and his compassions are new every morning (Lamentations 3:22-23), and thank goodness for that. It makes it so much easier to get up and face the day.

Leave a Reply

