Day 25: Building character … lots of character

I can’t believe it’s already past midnight. There’s still so much to do, and yet I suppose it’s a bit of a relief that I survived Thursday, with some heavy leaning on God. It was not easy. 1 Peter 1:7 says life’s trials “have come so that [our] faith – of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire – may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory and honour when Jesus Christ is revealed.” It doesn’t make the tough times any less painful, but I really do think it’s true (albeit an unfortunate truth) that difficult times make you stronger and bring out your real character.

I’m feeling like this semester is a lot worse than the last in many respects. For one thing, my teachers seem to have shrugged off their Dr. Jekyll facades and fully embraced Mr. Hyde in all his unpleasant glory. I’m just not finding certain teachers very helpful, and it’s hard getting shut down again and again without knowing how to improve. It’s definitely testing my optimism. I feel like I’m putting so much time and effort into school, but it’s a bit like trying to climb a mountain during an avalanche.

We went to the Ottawa courthouse today as a sort of field trip for my journalism reporting class. It was … informative, though possibly the furthest thing from the idea of a “field trip” instilled in us as kids watching “The Magic School Bus.” We have to cover a court case for our next assignment so we were getting a feel for the building. What a shame I left my powdered wig and gavel at home.

At the same time though, I think this semester is much better than the last, but not in terms of the workload. But I think I’ve come to the conclusion that whether or not I have a good day has very little to do with what happens in that day. It’s a bit a weird idea to wrap your head around, and I’m still in the process of fully understanding it myself, but I think it makes a big difference when you don’t have to depend on how many “good things” happen to you to determine how you’re going to feel. I thought I’d share my little epiphany. It’s been helping me a lot with this semester’s problems.

I got one more birthday present today! This one was from Jasmine, who lives down the hall. She went to Truffle Treasures, this amazing chocolate shop that I visit when I’m in the mood for a little reward, and got me a little box of truffles and a big bar of dark chocolate! That bar of chocolate was so perfect, I almost thought it was fake!

You can never have too much chocolate. I feel like it's going to be all gone in no time.

It’s now inching towards 12:30 a.m. and I still have miles to go before I sleep. There’s news to read for one thing. As I’m still not a night person, I think I’m going to have to read as much news as possible, and call it a night. Fortunately, class starts at 9 a.m. tomorrow so if I wake up bright and early at 7 a.m., I should have plenty of time to get some of that work done. This is me seizing the day (at an outrageous hour) and trying to cram as much into 24 hours as I can. Going strong!

Leave a Reply

