Day 26: Awesome

Have you ever found yourself in a public place, filled with people going on with their lives when, and suddenly something makes you so happy you just want to laugh for the sake of expressing that joy with the rest of the world? That makes me think of pie birds.

You know what I'm talking about - those ceramic birds that let the steam out of pies when they bake.

From what I gather, those birds have one purpose: letting out all that built up steam inside your pie so it doesn’t explode. That is exactly how I feel right now. That was me laughing by myself amongst the oblivious public. I can’t help it. If I kept it all to myself, I was going to explode and believe me, there’d be a lot more than pie filling coming out of me.

Morbid images of humans exploding aside (that certainly took a dark, unexpected turn), I have to share this before I get down to work.

Remember yesterday (a.k.a. earlier this morning) when I was sizing up the semester? It was the most unappealing semester, especially from where I’m sitting (here at the end of January with three more months ahead of me). But here comes the good part, the part where God once again comes through for me. True story! It always amazes me when that happens. It’s not that I didn’t believe He had my back, but it’s just so cool how I actually see it happening so quickly!

First of all, I had a meeting with my politics TA today to go over my outline for the assignment due Tuesday. I wasn’t too sure how it was going to go since this was the assignment that had all the instructions changed after I’d spent all of last weekend finishing two thirds of it. But it turns out he loved my outline. Finally! Here’s a class I seem to get.

Secondly, though I may be burying the lead by starting with that little TA spiel, I just found out I may be going to Hong Kong for a summer job! It’s not completely finalized yet, but it’s all very exciting. I’d be able to see my family and practice my Cantonese, and best of all, it’s at a big media company! And it’s all thanks to a family friend who has been immeasurably helpful through this whole messy process of looking for summer internships and jobs. I don’t know how I’m even going to begin to thank him.

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28

Awesome.

Leave a Reply

