Day 31: Order in my courtroom!

I lived! I went to the courthouse today despite “Snowmageddon” (a.k.a. Ground Hog Storm) because “come wind, come snow, come storm, come sleet, the show must go on!” (I think I need to see Singin’ in the Rain again.)

It was actually a pretty big blizzard, but it wasn’t as mind blowing as I had expected, especially since Carleton has its lovely tunnel system, extinguishing any flicker of hope for a snow day. I actually think there were about 20 centimetres of snow at least, but the wind was really the worst part. It wasn’t cold enough to make your nostrils freeze together every time you breathe in.

Kitty and I went into that courthouse with such purpose. We went to the front desk and looked up the court docket (“docket” is just a fancy name for the list of all the hearings for the day). Then we marched over to courtroom no. 2 and waited for the madness to unfold.

It was possibly the most confusing yet simultaneously uneventful hour of my life. There were four different cases. One of them was all about fraud and money, but the other three were all being postponed to later dates. But I guess it all made sense for her because she headed back to school right away.

I meanwhile felt like I knew absolutely nothing, so I ran into some other j-schoolers from Carleton, and we started sniffing around for some interesting trials. It wasn’t looking very good, though that was possibly because we were stuck on the first floor looking at civil cases.

It wasn’t until one of the lawyers tipped us off on an interesting criminal case hearing up on the third floor, where all the Superior Court trials are. We ended up sitting in on a pretty big case that’s been going on for about a week. It’s part of a five-week long murder trial.

We got to hear from a pathologist who described all the bullet wound in depth … oh, such depth. I stayed for two one-session hours – one hour for the Crown attorney to question the pathologist, and one hour for the defence attorney’s questions. I don’t know if it was the most interesting trial, but at least I have enough information to write my story.

For the rest of the day, I tried to get some work done, but I got a little distracted and before I knew it, hello! It’s 7 p.m.

Well think of it this way. It’s only 7 p.m. and I’m already blogging away. That frees up some time later tonight to catch up on my news and readings. I’m going to be productive! Or at least I’ll have time to work on Kitty’s birthday card (I’m kind of cutting it close, since today’s her birthday eve).

Here’s to an evening of hard work and profound thoughts.

Leave a Reply

