Day 35: Scones and touchdowns

It has been one hectic, non-stop Sunday. I didn’t do any work at all today. At most, I wrote two sentences for my court assignment due Thursday, but I don’t regret a single minute of today. It was just so much fun!

This morning, I went to the Met with Nat as per usual. It turns out the main pastor just found out he has cancer. We had a guest speaker who was talking about the sovereignty of God, as invited by our old pastor. For someone who has just received that kind of bad news, it’s pretty powerful to see how at peace he was. His first words were still, “God is good.” That’s intense.

After church, I dropped by Loblaws to pick up a big box of double chocolate cookies for a Superbowl party tonight. It’s supposed to be a chili competition, but I can’t make chili, so I figured I’d bring the dessert.

By the time Nat and I got back to res, we had about 45 minutes to get ready for tea. At 12:15 p.m., the four of us (Kitty, Natalie, Lindsay and me) set off for the Fairmont Chateau Laurier downtown for high tea. It’s kind of my belated birthday celebration since everyone was busy for the past two weekends.

It was so much fun! I’m a little too tired to go into detail, but each person gets to order a tea tower full of scones, finger sandwiches and pastries. We ended up getting two traditional teas and two Canadian teas so we could get the full Chateau Laurier experience. Everything was delicious! We were already having way too much fun sipping tea with extended pinkies and obnoxious British accents, but the food really did add to the whole experience. I can’t remember the last time I heard so many queen jokes in the span of two or three hours.

Since I don’t have time to upload pictures today, here’s the menu to give a bit of an idea as to what we ate:

Traditional Tea Choice of Fairmont Tea

  • Seasonal Fresh Fruit Cup
  • Victorian and Cranberry Scones with Devonshire Cream and Strawberry Jam
  • Dainty Finger Sandwiches
    • English Cucumber and Watercress
    • Smoked Turkey Salad
    • Egg Salad
    • Smoked Salmon and Cream Cheese
  • Afternoon Tea Cake
  • Fruit Tartlet

Canadian High Tea Choice of Fairmont Tea

  • Seasonal Fresh Fruit Cup
  • Victorian and Cranberry Scones with Devonshire Cream and Strawberry Jam
  • Deluxe Sandwiches
    • Smoked Salmon Pinwheel
    • Sandwich Mini Open-faced Alberta Beef Sandwich with Honey Mustard and Watercress Sprouts
    • Cured Quebec Duck Breast with Cranberry-Apple Compote on Fresh Baguette
  • Canadian Cheese Board
    • Aged Balderson Cheddar
    • Brie
    • Classic Oka
  • Maple Mousse
  • Maple Tuile and Maple Sugar Tartlet

In case it’s not obvious, we were extremely full by the end of all that, and rather giddy (thanks to being all hopped up on tea and sugar cubes). It was a great birthday celebration, with ample opportunity to showcase our elegance … or lack thereof.

Kitty and I headed back to school after tea (Nat and Lindsay went shopping). I had about 30 minutes before rushing out again. This time, I was on my way to Celebration! Church. After a bit of a shorter service, we went to our pastor’s house for the Superbowl party.

The chili competition was a bit of a fail since there was only one contestant who made it in on time, but one of my friends brought in a chili for the party. Our pastor’s wife made a lot of cornbread, and it turns out I wasn’t the only one who brought dessert. There may not have been as much chili as expected, but I think everyone got plenty to eat.

I’m not a particularly big football fan, but my friends and I just picked a team to cheer for and we ended up winning (Go Green Bay! It’s only like my favourite bay …). For the most part, I was just having a good time talking with friends and just enjoying the freedom of a “scheduled hang-out.” It seems silly, but it actually makes me a feel much less guilty for skipping out on schoolwork to spend time with my friends if I actually plan it out in advance.

It felt like we spent a really long time watching the Superbowl, but we managed to get back by 11:15 p.m. I think it’s safe to say I’m going to have to just forget about getting anything done tonight and just head to bed. I have such catching up to do tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

