Nothing sweeter than a long weekend

I can’t believe how quickly the weeks have gone by. One minute I had just landed my job, and the next I’m four weeks in and drinking in the beauty of a long weekend. Thank goodness for Canada Day! If it weren’t for our beloved country turning 145, I’d probably never get a break until mid-August.

To usher in the start of a fantastically lazy long weekend, I decided to sleep in until 9 a.m. (quite a feat for me considering I usually wake up at the late hour of 7:30 a.m. on the days I’m off work. That darn body clock just doesn’t understand the concept of weekend sleep-ins.) What says weekend better than a lazy Saturday breakfast?

Okay, so it’s 11:46 a.m. now and breakfast has kind of given way to brunch, but I’m still working on it! I decided to make cinnamon rolls! Everything is from scratch, mind you. (No Pilsbury doughboy in my kitchen!) I had to go out and buy those little packets of quick-rising yeast and everything! If it weren’t for my mom’s help, I think our kitchen would still look like a war zone right now (with cinnamon and flour shrapnel all over the place).

Who knew whipping up a batch of cinnamon rolls could be so time consuming? I’ve been at it since 9 a.m. and we’re still not baking yet! It turns out that yeast does not like to be rushed. I’ve had to spend an hour and a half just waiting for dough to rise! It better be worth it in the end. In any case, our house is smelling like a bakery, so that’s always a plus.

 

They look a little shrimpy at the pre-poofed stage, but just you wait!
They look a little shrimpy at the pre-poofed stage, but just you wait!
Tada! It's amazing what can happen after just 30 minutes of rising.
Tada! It’s amazing what can happen after just 30 minutes of rising.
It's already looking pretty yummy to me, and it's still completely raw! Oh boy oh boy, I hope it turns out okay. Keeping those fingers crossed!
It’s already looking pretty yummy to me, and it’s still completely raw! Oh boy oh boy, I hope it turns out okay. Keeping those fingers crossed!

So far so good I guess. The only down side is my rumbling tummy trying to eat itself. I’m so hungry! Can’t wait until these are done. The oven timer promises just 13 more minutes until delicious cinnamon goodness. This is definitely the way to kick off a long weekend. Consider this an early birthday present, Canada!

Update: The cinnamon buns are ready to eat! I made a coffee glaze to go on top, and it tastes delicious! The dough is so soft, with a light crunch on the top. All the brown sugar and cinnamon has melted into a sticky, gooey jelly, and the glaze adds just the right amount of sweetness with a hint of strong coffee. Success! I just don’t know if three and a half hours was worth it. Oh well, nothing to do now but enjoy!

Poofed up and golden brown – just the way I like 'em.
Poofed up and golden brown – just the way I like ’em.
Drizzle on a little coffee glaze, and you got yourself the best brunch (well, now it's 1:13 p.m. so perhaps lunch is more accurate) for the long weekend!
Drizzle on a little coffee glaze, and you got yourself the best brunch (well, now it’s 1:13 p.m. so perhaps lunch is more accurate) for the long weekend!
5 thoughts on “Nothing sweeter than a long weekend

    1. Thanks! I just follow any recipe that looks yummy to me, but I’m just an amateur baker so you can do it too! (All you need is three and a half hours and some hungry friends/family.)

Leave a Reply

