Out with a bang

The best thing about waking up today is that Monday has lost all its fury. Thank you Canada! If it weren’t for your birthday, this Monday morning would have been like any other – half-awake grouchiness and a constant need for coffee. Strong coffee. Lots of strong coffee.

As it is, this Monday is just the cherry on top of a long weekend sundae! So what better way to savour the last lazy morning than pancakes for breakfast? I hate to brag (Actually, that’s a lie. I kind of love it.), but my pancakes have their own fan base amongst my friends and family members. Buttermilk makes all the difference, people!

Today, despite having reached perfection with my usual buttermilk pancakes recipe, I decided to stray from the beaten path and try a new recipe. Don’t worry, I haven’t left out the buttermilk. This time however, I gave whole wheat flour another shot. I feel bad for All-Purpose’s healthy brother. Poor guy has kind of gained a reputation for tasting nasty.

The trick? Moderation. I used half whole wheat and half all-purpose flour to ease us onto the healthy breakfast train. (Trust me, I’m not usually on that train much … or at all really. Refer to my cinnamon roll bonanza.) To be honest, you can definitely still taste the whole wheat, but once you drench the whole thing in good old maple syrup – perhaps even more important to a proper pancake breakfast than even the buttermilk! If you don’t have maple syrup, well you can always have a grapefruit for breakfast – then it’s not bad at all.

Another plus? This one has the egg yolks and whites beaten separately. Whipping those egg whites into cloudy peaks will pretty much guarantee a fluffy pancake. Perfect for the last big breakfast before the work week resumes tomorrow.

Pancakes are on the griddle! It definitely beats standing by the stove over a single pan for an hour.
Pancakes are on the griddle! It definitely beats standing by the stove over a single pan for an hour.
I like my pancakes nice and poofy. Keep on rising!
I like my pancakes nice and poofy. Keep on rising!
It doesn't hurt to be a little generous with that maple syrup. It's CANADA Day weekend after all.
It doesn’t hurt to be a little generous with that maple syrup. It’s CANADA Day weekend after all.
Not too shabby for a first try at whole wheat buttermilk pancakes!
Not too shabby for a first try at whole wheat buttermilk pancakes!

In case you haven’t noticed, breakfast makes my life, and never more so than on a long weekend when I have plenty of time to get my chef on and EAT!

Leave a Reply

