C is for cookie – good enough for me!

My past few posts may say otherwise, but my heart belongs to cookies. I’m always a fan of the baked goods – bread, cinnamon rolls and cobbler can attest to that – but I’m definitely a Cookie Monster through and through.

Recently I came across a video that’s kind of gone viral. It’s the Cookie Monster singing “Share It Maybe” – an ode to cookies if I ever heard one. (It’s a parody of Carly Rae Jepson’s “Call Me Maybe.”) If you haven’t already, watch it now and get in cookie-munching spirit!

Understandably, I was having a serious case of cookie cravings after seeing the video. There’s just something about that furry blue monster that I can really relate to. Maybe it’s the way his big googly eyes go absolutely nuts when he actually gets a hold of a cookie and devours them in a manic frenzy. Love it!

When inspiration strikes, it’s best just to go with it. This afternoon, I gave in to the cookie cravings and whipped up a batch of Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Gone Nutty. I can think of no better way to tip my hat to that crazy blue monster. He’s pretty nutty himself!

At its core, my new creation is really just an oatmeal raisin cookie. I used half-and-half whole wheat and all-purpose flour and a whole bunch of quick oats. So there. It’s healthy!

Then there’s just the matter of counterbalancing all that healthiness by loading in peanut butter and honey. The honey gives it that soft chewiness when you sink your teeth into it. The peanut butter makes it nice and creamy. As an added bonus, it smells absolutely amazing while they’re baking in the oven. The smell of warm gooey peanut butter really knows how to fill up a house and get my mouth watering.

Throw in a handful of raisins and chopped up almonds (a nod to one of my mom’s favourite chocolate bars – Cadbury’s Fruit and Nut), and you’re looking at a pretty good cure for those cookie cravings.

The result was pretty spectacular. The almonds (which I hand-chopped! They were flying all over the place) adds a bit of a crunch. Every so often you come across a burst of sweetness as you bite into a raisin. Definitely can’t eat just one. I’m munching on one as I type!

CIMG2076
So I guess will power isn’t my strong suit, but all is forgiven after that first bite.

CIMG2076

I can’t wait to bring these to work tomorrow – just when you thought Friday couldn’t get any better! (Also a good counterstrike to fend off any bad luck from Friday the 13th.)

One thought on “C is for cookie – good enough for me!

Leave a Reply

