Peachy inspirations

As you may remember, I’ve been head over heels in love with these peaches I brought back from the Winona Peach Festival. (You can read all about my peach-lovin’ experience here.) While stuffing my face at the festival, I came across a rather unsatisfying peach cobbler. Maybe it was too hot, but the whole thing had turned into a warm plate of mush. The name was cobbler, but it looked more like a crumble (with a soggy top instead of a crispy one).

CIMG3712
It doesn’t really photograph well, and it tastes pretty much the same way that it looks.

Clearly, I needed to re-do my peach cobbler experience. Time to make my own! My new predicament: my peach festival peaches taste amazing all on their own, right out of the basket. What if I tried to turn them into a cobbler and it turned out horribly? I would be wasting precious peaches! Who knows when I’ll be getting such perfect peaches again?

My solution is the same as always: raid the fridge! That’s where all the real magic happens. So instead of peach cobbler, I decided to make Apple Peach Pear Cobbler.

Step one: chose that fruit! (I’ve been looking for something to do with that one lonely pear and that equally lonely apple for the longest time.)

CIMG3765
I like to keep the slices a little bit thicker to get some nice chunky bites.

Next, I tossed it in some sugar, cinnamon, lemon juice, and just a tiny bit of corn starch. Stick it in the oven for about 10 minutes to get the juices flowing.

Let the fruits soften up while all the juices get mixed together.
Let the fruits soften up while all the juices get mixed together.

It’s starting to look like pie filling! While the fruit was baking, I made the doughy part of the cobbler. It’s pretty much just flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Cut the butter in there and mix it altogether until it starts to look like this.

CIMG3769
The flour should start looking like coarse crumbs.

The trick to getting it to hold together is boiling water. Just add enough until it can form a dough ball. Actually, everything in this recipe is pretty forgiving. The peach cobbler recipe I was working with was enormous (It called for eight peaches!), so I improvised and made a smaller batch.

I like to tear the dough into small pieces by hand rather than spooning it out. Then, just sprinkle the top with cinnamon sugar!
I like to tear the dough into small pieces by hand rather than spooning it out. Then, just sprinkle the top with cinnamon sugar!

Once you drop the dough on top and dust the whole thing in some cinnamon sugar, it’s back in the oven for 30 minutes. That gave me plenty of time to run out and pick up some vanilla ice cream!

Hot and fresh out of the oven!
Hot and fresh out of the oven!

Just bake it until it turns golden brown. It may be hard to tell the colour with all the cinnamon on top, but as long as it’s no longer sticky when you poke through the dough, it’s done! That dough really poofs up quite a bit, so don’t worry if it looks like there’s not enough to go around when you’re dropping the raw dough on top of the fruit. Smells delicious!

Serve with ice cream and you're looking at one awesome cobbler.
Serve with ice cream and you’re looking at one awesome cobbler.

Who knew apple, peach and pear could go so well together? The fruit really does taste like an amazing pie filling. All the comforting goodness of apple pie with the added texture of pear and a kick of tartness from the peach. The cobbler is light, buttery and fluffy with a slight crunch from the cinnamon sugar. I topped it with a generous scoop of ice cream and my taste buds were in heaven. It’s definitely my dessert of choice to end off the perfect summer day.

And the best part is: I still have some delicious peaches left to enjoy! This cobbler recipe really does work with any kind of fruit. To see the recipe I used as a rough guideline for my apple pear peach cobbler, click here. Discover your own delicious fruit combinations and feel free to share them!

2 thoughts on “Peachy inspirations

Leave a Reply

